Call for



Nominations for the WCPEC Award

by 15 April 2022

The World Conference on Photovoltaic Solar Energy Conversion (WCPEC) Award will be presented on the occasion of **the 8th World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion (WCPEC-8)**, September 26-30, 2022 at the Milano Convention Center, Milan, Italy.

Terms of Reference

The International Advisory Committee for the WCPEC will present the 2022 **WCPEC Award** for advancement of photovoltaic science, technology and application on occasion of the 8th World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion, with co-sponsorship of the European Commission, the IEEE Electron Devices Society, and the PVSEC Advisory Committee, Japan.

The WCPEC Award Committee is now inviting nominations for the Award which will be presented at the WCPEC-8 in Milan, Italy. Nominations can be made by any member of the photovoltaic community with a nomination letter that clearly states the nominee's qualification, achievements, and contributions (maximum 200 words) and brief curriculum vitae to be submitted by e-mail to the Co-Chairs of the WCPEC Award Committee: Prof. Masafumi Yamaguchi, Dr. Lawrence L. Kazmerski, and Prof. Wim Sinke (wcpec.award@gmail.com).

The DEADLINE for nominations is 15 April 2022.

Individuals nominated for the WCPEC Award *must have promoted global cooperation* across international communities, in particular between Europe, the Americas, and Asia-Pacific, but a broader scope is welcomed as well. Additionally, the candidate must fulfil one or more of the following criteria:

- 1. Made an important and internationally recognized contribution to the development of a new PV material, PV device, PV system and/or PV application;
- 2. Made an important and internationally recognized contribution to the development of the PV industry or, in broader sense, of the PV sector.
- 3. Demonstrated outstanding PV technology and/or deployment leadership in the past and has an important/influential vision on the development of PV or the global PV sector in the coming decade(s).

The Award Chairman will distribute a list of potential candidates to all the active members of the WCPEC Award Committee (i.e. the WCPEC International Advisory Committee), which is composed of 21 persons each selected from the three societies of IEEE PVSC, EU PVSEC and PVSEC. Then, two to three steps of voting selections will be made to reach the final selection.

The Chair of the WCPEC Award Committee will present the recommendation of the WCPEC Award Committee to the WCPEC Executive Committee for its approval. After approval, the Chair will inform the Award Winner.

The winner of the WCPEC Award will receive an engraved plaque and prize money and will be invited to deliver a commemorative lecture at the Milano Convention Center, Milan, Italy.

Previous Winners: Dr. Hermann Scheer (1998)

Prof. Yoshihiro Hamakawa (2003) Dr. Lawrence L. Kazmerski (2006) Prof. Masafumi Yamaguchi (2014)

Dr. Dennis J. Flood (2018)